top of page

Not an easy question

Updated: Feb 20, 2023




She lies there at rest. Majestic. Mighty. Substance in the form of a pyramid that has become an image. It radiates strength. Clarity. Timelessness in stony form. As if it wanted to be proof of true immutability. As if it could be a testimony for the existence of the great principles of this world. She stands there at rest. Draws its contours into the sky with its two long lines. Two axes and a common point. A point. Where I am, there will be nothing equal as soon as. Clearly. The very thought is presumption. It is there.





How universal must have been the human thought, which could have made the origin of this building possible? How all-encompassing must the idea of the world have been felt and thought to be able to let this come into being? The implementation alone is unimaginable, but what size must the foundation of the idea first have?


Yes, it is impressive.




And then there's the trappings. The flickering lights of the vehicles whizzing by, their lights, if any, drawing red and white stripes on the road, on which the dust lies, sticking together into a brown mass at the moment when drops fall from the sky. Everyone, as briskly as they can, pushes themselves on two wheels, three or four, in a car, SUV or rattling mini-bus, on a horse-drawn cart or in a cab, over the main multi-lane road in town and the small obstructed streets where laws other than those of straightness prevail. The attention-seeking, nervous honking of the apes, the short friendly warning toot of the wagons, a greengrocer advertising his wares through a rattling megaphone. A slightly scratchy carpet of engine noises, from which now and then a dark, humming sound emerges or, more often, a howling shrillness. A booming hip-hop bass from the speakers of a passing Ape. A siren that waftingly embeds itself in the polyphony before, from somewhere, the muezzin begins to sing his verses through the clanging loudspeakers of a mosque in the distance, soon to be followed by more, from him and from other muezzins who send their message from other mosques into the cold air of Cairo, which smells of exhaust fumes on long-distance roads.





That, too, is impressive. Especially in its combination.


And I think about Heny's question: What do you think about Egypt?


And so it stands there side by side, leaving me perplexed.


118 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page

top of page

Keine leichte Frage

Updated: Feb 20, 2023




Ruhend liegt sie da. Majestetisch. Mächtig. Zu Bild gewordene Substanz in Pyramidenform. Sie strahlt Stärke aus. Klarheit. Zeitlosigkeit in steinernder Form. Als wolle sie Beweis sein für wahre Unveränderbarkeit. Als könne sie Zeugnis sein, für die Existenz der großen Prinzipien dieser Welt. Ruhend steht sie da. Zeichnet mit ihren beiden langen Linien ihre Konturen in den Himmel. Zwei Achsen und ein gemeinsamer Punkt. Eine Spitze. Wo ich bin wird sobald nichts ebenbürtiges sein. Eindeutig. Allein der Gedanke ist Anmaßung. Sie ist da.





Wie universell muss der menschliche Gedanke gewesen sein, der den Ursprung dieses Bauwerkes hat erst ermöglichen können? Wie allumfassend muss die Idee der Welt gefühlt und gedacht worden sein, um dies entstehen lassen zu können? Die Umsetzung allein ist unvorstellbar, doch welche Größe muss das Fundament der Idee erst haben?


Ja, sie ist beeindruckend.




Und dann ist da das Drumherum. Das Flackern der Lichter der vorbeibrausenden Fahrzeuge, die mit ihren Leuchten, sofern vorhanden, rote und weiße Streifen auf die Straße ziehen, auf denen der Staub liegt, der sich zu einer braunen Masse verklebt, im Augenblick, in dem Tropfen vom Himmel fallen. Jeder, so zügig wie er kann, schiebt sich auf zwei Rädern, dreien oder vieren, im Auto, SUV oder klapperndem Mini-Bus, auf dem Pferdewagen oder im Taxi, über die mehrspurige Hauptschneise im Ort und die kleinen verbauten Straßen, in denen andere Gesetze als die der Geradlinigkeit herrschen. Das Aufmerksamkeit wollende, nervöse Hupen der Apen, das kurze freundlich warnende Tuten der Wagen, ein Gemüsehändler, der seine Waren durch ein knatterndes Megaphon anpreist. Ein leicht kratzender Teppich aus Motorengeräuschen, aus dem ab und an ein dunkles, brummendes Geräusch hervortritt oder häufiger noch ein jaulend Grelles. Ein dröhnender Hip-Hop-Bass aus den Boxen einer vorbeifahrenden Ape. Eine Sirene, die sich wabernd in die Mehrtönigkeit einbettet, bevor von irgendwo der Muezzin beginnt, durch die scheppernden Lautsprecher einer Moschee in der Ferne seine Verse zu singen, auf die bald weitere folgen, von ihm und von anderen Muezzinen, die aus anderen Moscheen ihre Botschaft in die kalte Luft Kairos entsenden, die nach Abgasen auf Fernverkehrsstraßen riecht.





Auch das ist beindruckend. Vor allem in seiner Kombination.


Und ich denke nach über die Frage von Heny: Was hälst Du von Ägypten?


Und so steht es da nebeneinander und lässt mich ratlos zurück.


119 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page